Young Student Remembers Past Life?

Soldiers

Several years ago, while teaching third grade, the school asked me to have students write stories.  One of my third-grade boys (age 8) wrote a story unlike any I have ever seen in all of my years of teaching.  Instead of writing about the usual kinds of stories which children do, he wrote about his experience as an adult man during war.

His story was about trying to save his family while he was being called off to war.  He was rushing to hide them in the basement and get them necessities, while trucks of soldiers were coming by to pick him up and take him with them off to war.  It was in Europe, and there were trucks.  It’s been several years, and I no longer recall all the details, but the essence of the story has stayed with me ever since.  Out of all the stories my students wrote over the years, it is the only one I can clearly remember today.

As someone who believes in reincarnation, I’ve always wondered if, in fact, this child’s story was a past-life memory.  It was shocking to read.  It sounded like one of the World Wars.  His concerns sounded just as if an adult man of 35 was speaking about his feelings.  There are a number cases now researched and published of young children who remember past lives, and even past lives in wars.

I mentioned the story to his mother, and she responded, “I know.  He’s just like an old man, in a little boy’s body.”

–Lynne Diligent

Tags: ,

4 Responses to “Young Student Remembers Past Life?”

  1. Judy Says:

    Too bad you weren’t able to keep a copy of it. I’m sure some researcher somewhere would be interested to read it.

  2. sandford johnson Says:

    This is interesting. Are you able to contact him now? Priscilla

    ________________________________

    • Lynne Diligent Says:

      Yes, I’m still in regular touch with the family. But he’s still a minor and his family is Muslim, so I don’t feel I can talk to him about it as I don’t think his parents would appreciate my doing so.

  3. Lynne Diligent Says:

    From Facebook discussion:
    Yvonne Simpson says: “I think children can internalize things that they hear adults speaking about. I can remember when I was around 5 to 6 years old, having recurrent dreams of seeing huge flashes of multiple explosions lighting up behind the far distant hills that i could see from the house we lived in. Now I didn’t know what exploding bombs looked or sounded like but I was sure there was a war going on over there.”

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58 other followers

